COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING: SCHOOL OF ELECTRICAL AND ELECTRONIC ENGINEERING

1.4 School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Overview

Since its establishment as one of the three founding schools of the University, the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering has grown in size and stature to become one of the largest schools in electrical and electronic engineering in the world. It is internationally renowned for its high academic standards and strong research orientation.

The School is organized into seven divisions: The Division of Power Engineering, Division of Circuits and Systems, Division of Information Engineering, Division of Control and Instrumentation, Division of Communication Engineering, Division of Microelectronics, and Division of Info-communications (Information Communication Institute of Singapore).

The School has close to 200 full-time faculty members from diverse backgrounds, and with strong research and professional expertise. They are supported by some 400 research, technical and administrative staff members. The high calibre of its faculty is matched by the well developed teaching and research infrastructure comprising one of the most comprehensive and sophisticated constellations of research centres and laboratories in the world.

These include 11 state-of-the-art research centres, such as the Microelectronics Centre, Photonics Research Centre, Centre for Smart Energy Systems, Centre for Modeling and Control of Complex Systems, Network Technology Research Centre and Satellite Engineering Centre. These Centres are complemented by more than 50 laboratories that cover the full range of electrical and electronic engineering activities. Apart from teaching, faculty members collaborate actively with renowned overseas universities, research institutes and multinational companies.

Master of Engineering and Doctor of Philosophy

Students doing graduate programmes by research may be admitted on a full-time or part-time basis. Research scholarships or financial top-ups (for selected industrial projects only) are available to outstanding candidates.

Students may pursue their M.Eng. or Ph.D. programme in one of the following divisions:

- 1. Division of Power Engineering
- 2. Division of Circuits and Systems
- 3. Division of Information Engineering
- 4. Division of Control and Instrumentation
- 5. Division of Communication Engineering
- 6. Division of Microelectronics
- 7. Information Communication Institute of Singapore (ICIS)