Meeting Minutes IEEE EDS VLSI Technology and Circuits Committee December 7, 2003

A. Attendees: Joe Brewer (U. Florida), Jamal Deen (McMaster U.), Jim Hutchby (SRC), Jason Jenq (UMC), Lalita Manchanda (SRC/Agere), Huiling Shang (IBM), S. C. Sun (Chartered Semiconductor), Albert Wang (Illinois Inst. of Tech.), Jeff Welser (IBM), Reinout Woltjer (Philips), Xing Zhou (Nanyang Tech U.)

B. Agenda:

- Annual report (Jim Hutchby)
- Outstanding Action Items
- Ideas for future activities
 - Specific ideas
 - Responsible committee member
- Identify new candidate members for the committee
- Elect New Chair (Bin Zhao)

C. 2003 Accomplishments

<u>L</u> .	2005 Accomplishments	
#	Accomplishments	Next Steps and Information
1.	 Added 3 new members to the committee Prof. Yanhe Li, Tsinghua University Peoples Republic of China 	Provide updated member list to IEEE EDS for their approval, information and use. Contact people are:
	 Prof. Joe Brewer University of Florida U.S.A. Prof. Jamel Deen McMaster University Canada 	 Bill Vandervort w.vandervort@ieee.org Stacey Waters s.waters@ieee.org
2.	 Sponsored two workshops Compact Modeling – Xing Zhou International Workshop for Future Information Processing Technologies – Lalita Manchanda 	February 2003 Collaborated with Japanese colleagues to conduct workshop in Japan in November 2003
3.	 2003 ITRS Work Chaired the ITRS Working Group on Emerging Research Devices and produced the new 2003 ITRS Section on ERD – Jim Hutchby Organized the new ITRS Working Group on "RF and AMS Technologies for Wireless Communications". This WG produced a substantial new Section for the 2003 ITRS – Jim Hutchby and Bin Zhao 	December 2003 December 2003
4.	 Proposal for Special Issue to the EDS – TED Submitted proposal for a EDS TED Special Issue on "Integrated Circuits Technologies for RF Circuit Applications" – Albert Wang, S. C. Sun, Bin Zhao and Jim Hutchby 	

D.	Key Decisions Made:		
#	Decisions Made	Next Steps	
1.	 Add 3 new members to the committee beginning in 2004 Prof. Yanhe Li, Tsinghua University Peoples Republic of China 	Provide updated member list to IEEE EDS for their approval, information and use. Contact people are:	
	 Prof. Joe Brewer University of Florida U.S.A. Prof. Jamal Deen McMaster University Canada 	 Bill Vandervort w.vandervort@ieee.org Stacey Waters s.waters@ieee.org 	
2.	Sponsor three ITRS ERD Technology Meetings on Emerging Research Devices to engage and interact with the relevant research communities	◆ Jim Hutchby	
3.	 Submit a proposal to the EDS TED for: Non-classical CMOS devices and technologies: Extending the Roadmap Part 1 - New Materials and Process Technologies Advanced non-volatile memory technologies (FeRAM, MRAM, Phase Change Memory, Flash, etc.) for Embedded Memories Organic Electronics – Explore possible Proposal 	 Huiling Shang Joe Brewer Philips Co-Editor Lalita Manchanda (Rajinda Khosla and Usha Varshney of NSF) Jamal Deen 	
	 Integration of Heterogeneous Technologies – Explore possibility (Technologies and Systems) 	 Kwyro Lee Reinout Woltjer Dan Radick (DARPA?) 	
4.	 Remove the following topics as possible candidates for TED Special Issues: Precise Electrical Measurement Techniques - Nanometer technologies Examination of Silicon/Dielectric Interface 		
5.	Elected Bin Zhao as the new Chair for 2004 of the Committee		

D. Key Decisions Made:

D. Action (AI) Items:

#	Action Item Description	Owner
1.	Contact the following individuals to explore their joining the VLSI	
	Technology and Circuits Committee:	
	• Roland Thewes (Infineon)	• Reinout Woltjer
	 Sanford Chu (Chartered Semiconductor) 	♦ S. C. Sun

2.	Prepare Proposal for Special Issues of the TED: Submit a proposal to the EDS TED for:	
	 Non-classical CMOS devices and technologies: Extending the Roadmap Part 1 - New Materials and Process Technologies 	 Huiling Shang and others
	 Advanced non-volatile memory technologies (FeRAM, MRAM, Phase Change Memory, Flash, etc.) for Embedded Memories 	Joe BrewerPhilips Co-Editor
	 Organic Electronics – Explore possible Proposal 	 Lalita Manchanda (Rajinda Khosla and Usha Varshney of NSF) Jamal Deen
	 Integration of Heterogeneous Technologies – Explore possibility (Technologies and Systems) 	 Kwyro Lee Reinout Woltjer Dan Radick (DARPA?)
3.	Present the review of the VLSI Tech & Ckts Committee to the EDS	Jim Hutchby
4.	Contact the IEEE EDS with the names of the new Committee Members for EDS Approval and Invitation	Bin Zhao