2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Multicriteria Decision-Making

The aim of the 2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Multicriteria Decision Making (IEEE MCDM 2013) is to bring together engineers, scientists and students from around the world to discuss the latest advances in the field of computational intelligence applied to issues in multicriteria decision making.


Topics covered include applications of computational intelligence technologies, such as neural networks, fuzzy systems, evolutionary computation, and other emerging techniques in the following or similar areas:

  • Multiobjective Search/Optimization (MOO)
    • Multi-objective evolutionary algorithms
    • Meta-heuristics (scatter and Tabu search)
    • Particle swarm optimization
    • Ant colonies, bacteria optimization, and other heuristic search methods
  • Multiobjective Machine Learning (MOML)
    • Accuracy and complexity tradeoff
    • Accuracy-interpretability, stability-plasticity dilemma
    • Pareto-based ensemble generation
    • Pareto-analysis of learning systems
  • Multiobjective Analysis of Biological Systems
    • Pareto-approach to life history evolution
    • Robustness and evolvability
    • Energy consumption and functional efficiency in neural organization
    • Bioinformatics (sequence alignment, protein structure prediction, construction of gene regulatory networks, etc.)
  • Decision Making (DM) Techniques
    • Preference elicitation and representation
    • Aggregation/tradeoff operators & algorithms
    • Fuzzy logic based DM techniques
    • Bayesian and other DM techniques
  • Interactive Visualization (IV)
    • Progressive aggregation methods
    • Decision maker in the loop
  • Integration of MOO, ML, DM, and IV to support Multicriteria Decision Making

Keynote, Tutorial and Panel Sessions

Please forward your proposals with detailed abstract and bio-sketches of the speakers to Symposium Co-Chairs and SSCI Keynote-Tutorial Chair, Dr S Das.

Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Symposium Co-Chairs.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Carlos A. Coello Coello, CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico
Piero P. Bonissone, GE Global Research, USA
Yaochu Jin, University of Surrey, UK

Program Committee (tentative)

Hussein A. Abbass, University of New South Wales, Australia
Adel M. Alimi, University of Sfax, Tunisia
Hernan Aguirre, Shinshu University, Japan
Gideon Avigad, Braude College of Engineering, Israel
Ulrich Bodenhofer, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
B. Chandrasekaran, The Ohio State University, USA
Pei-Chann Chang, Yuan Ze University, Taiwan
Francisco Chiclana, De Montfort Univeristy, UK
Oscar Cordon, European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain
David Corne, Heriot-Watt University, UK
Bernard De Baets, Ghent University, Belgium
Thierry Denoeux, Université de Technologie de Compiègne, France
Matthias Ehrgott, The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Rudolf Felix, F/L/S Fuzzy Logik Systeme GmbH, Germany
Jonathan E. Fieldsend, University of Exeter, UK
Peter Fleming, University of Sheffield, UK
Thomas Hanne, University of Applied Sciences Northwestern, Switzerland
Francisco Herrera, University of Granada, Spain
Enrique Herrera-Viedma, University of Granada, Spain
Arturo Hernandez Aguirre, Center for Research in Mathematics, Mexico
Chongfu Huang, Beijing Normal University, China
Beatriz de la Iglesia, University of East Anglia, UK
Masahiro Inuiguchi, Osaka University, Japan
Fernando Jiménez, University of Murcia, Spain
Janusz Kacprzyk, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Uzay Kaymak, Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands
DaeEun Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea
Mario Koeppen, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Sanaz Mostaghim, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Luiz S. Oliveira, Federal University of Parana, Brazil
Antonio Padua Braga, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil
Nikhil R. Pal, Indian Statistical Institute, India
Da Ruan, The Belgian Nuclear Research Centre and Ghent University, Belgium
João M. Sousa, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Raj Subbu, GE Global Research, USA
El-Ghazali Talbi, University of Lille, France
Kay Chen Tan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Kiyoshi Tanaka, Shinshu University, Japan
Vicenc Torra, IIIA-CSIC, Spain
Ronald R. Yager, Iona College, USA
Yiyu Yao, University of Regina, Canada
Gary G. Yen, Oklahoma State University, USA
Ali Riza Yildiz, Mississippi State University, USA
Feng Xue, GE Global Research, USA
Qingfu Zhang, University of Essex, UK