ICES 2013


2013 IEEE International Conference on Evolvable Systems – From Biology to Hardware


In the mid 1990's, researchers began applying Evolutionary Algorithms (EAs) on a kind of computer chip that could dynamically alter the functionality and physical connections of its circuits.  This combination of EAs with programmable electronics (Field Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) & Field Programmable Analogue Arrays (FPAAs) to give two examples) spawned a new field of Evolutionary Computation (EC) called Evolvable Hardware (EH).  


Since that time the EH field has expanded beyond the use of EAs on simple electronic devices to encompass many different combinations of EAs and biologically inspired algorithms (BIAs) with various physical devices (or simulations of physical devices).  Present research in the field of EH can be split into the two related areas of Evolvable Hardware Design (EHD) and Adaptive Hardware (AH).  


Evolvable Hardware Design (EHD) is the use of EAs and BIAs for creating physical devices and designs, examples of where EHD has had some success include analogue and digital electronics, antennas, MEMS chips, optical systems as well as quantum circuits.  


Adaptive Hardware as the name suggests uses EAs and BIAs to endow physical systems with some adaptive characteristics. These adaptive characteristics are required to construct more robust components and systems to allow them to continue to operate successfully in a changing environment. For example, a circuit on an FPGA that "evolved" to heal from radiation damage or an FPAA that can change its function as operational requirements change.


Held without interruption since 1995, ICES has become the leading conference in the field of evolvable hardware and systems. In a new and exciting move, ICES has joined the successful IEEE Symposium Series on Computational Intelligence, providing the possibility for increased interaction between ICES and the other symposiums and workshops.




The topics to be covered include (but are not limited to):

•     Evolutionary hardware design

•     Co-evolution of hybrid systems

•     Intrinsic and extrinsic evolution

•     Hardware/software co-evolution

•     On-line hardware evolution

•     Evolutionary optimization of hardware design

•     Evolutionary robotics

•     Autonomic and organic computing

•     Evolutionary circuit diagnostics and testing

•     Self-repairing and fault tolerant systems

•     Self-reconfigurable and adaptive hardware

•     Generative and developmental approaches

•     Real-world applications of evolvable hardware

•     MEMS and nanotechnology in evolvable hardware

•     Formal models for bio-inspired hardware systems

•   Novel devices/testbeds/tools for evolvable hardware (including bio-inspired computing on GPU)

•   Smart Grid applications (in association with Symposium on Computational Intelligence Applications in Smart Grid)



Prof. Dr. AE (Gusz) Eiben "Artificial Evolution: from Digital to Physical"

Department of Computer Science, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. (


Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Conference Co-Chairs.


Conference Co-Chairs

Andy M Tyrrell, University of York, UK

Pauline C Haddow, NTNU, Norway


Program Committee

Andrew Adamatzky, University of the West of England, UK

Burcin Aktan, Intel Corporation, USA

Peter Bentley, University College London, UK

Michal Bidlo, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic

Stefano Cagnoni, University of Parma, Italy

Carlos A. Coello, CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico

Rolf Drechsler, University of Bremen, Germany

Marc Ebner, Eberhard Karls University of Tuebingen, Germany

R. Tim Edwards, Multigig Inc., USA

Stuart J. Flockton, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

John Gallagher, Wright State University, USA

Pauline C Haddow, NTNU, Norway

David M. Halliday, University of York, UK

Alister Hamilton, University of Edinburgh, UK

Inman Harvey, University of Sussex, UK

James Hereford, Murray State University, USA

Tatiana Kalganova, Brunel University, UK

Paul Kaufmann, University of Paderborn, Germany

Didier Keymeulen, NASA, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA

Gul Khan, NWFP UET Peshawar, Pakistan

Gregory Larchev, NASA Ames Research Center, USA

Per Kristian Lehre, University of Birmingham, UK

Wenjian Luo, University of Science and Technology of China

Jordi Madrenas, Technical University of Catalunya, Spain    

Trent McConaghy, Solido Design Automation, Canada

Bob McKay, Seoul National University, South Korea

Julian Miller, University of York, UK

J Manuel Moreno Arostegui, Technical University of Catalunya, Spain    

Pierre-Andre Mudry, EPFL, Switzerland

Andres Perez-Uribe, University of Applied Sciences of Western Switzerland, Switzerland

Jean-Marc Philippe, CEA LIST, France

Lucian Prodan, University Polytechnic of Timisoara, Romania

Daniel Roggen, ETH Zόrich, Switzerland

Cristina Santini, King Saud University, Riyadh, KSA

Gilles Sassatelli, University of Montpellier 2, FRANCE    

Thorsten Schnier, University of Birmingham, UK

Lukas Sekanina, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic

Stephen Smith, University of York, UK

Giovanni Squillero, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Uwe Tangen, Ruhr-Univserity-Bochum, Germany

Gianluca Tempesti, University of York, UK

Christof Teuscher, Portland State University, USA

Jon Timmis, University of York, UK

Jim Torresen, University of Oslo, Norway

Martin Trefzer, University of York, UK

Andy M. Tyrrell, University of York, UK

Fabien Vannel, University of Applied Sciences Western Switzerland, Switzerland

James Walker, University of York, UK

Moritoshi Yasunaga, University of Tsukuba, Japan

Xin Yao, University of Birmingham, UK

Ricardo Zebulum, NASA, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA