CIVTS 2013

2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Vehicles and Transportation Systems

The goal of this symposium is to provide a forum for participants from industry, academic, and non-profit organizations to exchange innovative ideas on intelligent vehicles, their systems, and related manufacturing processes. We welcome papers from all areas of computational intelligence demonstrating applications of theoretical advances to modern and future vehicles and vehicular systems (engine, transmissions, actuators, sensors, networks, communications, interfaces, etc.) and related manufacturing technologies. Although the focus of the symposium is on the application aspects of CI, papers describing simulation-only results are also solicited.


Topics include but are not limited to theoretical and practical contributions of computational intelligence to the following areas for vehicles and vehicular systems:

  • Application to automotive, aerospace, marine, military, and other (mining industry, locomotives, etc.) vehicles
  • Intelligent control
  • On-board / off-board / remote diagnostics and prognostics
  • Fault mitigation and recovery
  • Safety systems
  • Infotainment systems
  • Navigation systems / Electronic horizon
  • Human Machine Interfaces
  • Advisory Systems
  • Attributes and assessment of intelligence in intelligent vehicles
  • Autonomous and semi-autonomous driving
  • Intelligent transportation systems
  • Vehicle manufacturing processes
  • Other vehicle applications

Keynote, Tutorial and Panel Sessions

Please forward your proposals with detailed abstract and bio-sketches of the speakers to Symposium Co-Chairs and SSCI Keynote-Tutorial Chair, Dr S Das.

Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Symposium Co-Chairs.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Dipti Srinivasan, National University of Singapore
Justin Dauwels, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Program Committee (tentative)

Plamen Angelov, Lancaster University, UK
Alberto Broggi, University of Parma, Italy
George Bebis, University of Nevada, USA
Luis M.Bergasa, University of Alcala, Spain
Oleg Gusikhin, Ford Research, USA
Ilya Kolmanovsky, University of Michigan, USA
John Krumm, Microsoft Research, USA
Rudolf Kruse, University of Magdeburg, Germany
T.T. Lee, National University of Technology, Taiwan
Raj Madhavan, NIST, USA
Seichi Mita, Toyota Tech Institute, Japan
Yi L. Murphey, University of Michigan-Dearborn, USA
Hiroshi Nakajima, Omron, Japan
Yoshiki Ninomiya, Toyota Central R & D Labs, Japan
Urbano Nunes, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Krishna Pattipati, University of Connecticut, USA
Luigi del Re, JKU, Austria
Thomas Runkler, Siemens Research, Germany
Nestor Rychtycki, Ford Research, USA
Kazuya Takeda, Nagoya University, Japan
Mohan Trivedi, UCSD, USA
Hans J Wuensche, University of Bundeswehr, Germany
Yilu Zhang, GM, USA