CICS 2013

2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence in Cyber Security

Computational Intelligence constitutes an umbrella of techniques, has proven to be flexible in decision making in dynamic environment. These techniques typically include Fuzzy Logic, Evolutionary Computation, Intelligent Agent Systems, Neural Networks, Cellular Automata, Artificial Immune Systems and other similar computational models. The use of these techniques allowed building efficient online monitoring tools and robust decision support modules, providing cross-linking solutions to different cyber security applications.  
 In order to protect Internet users from Identity Theft, Phishing, Spam and other cyber infrastructure threats, we need flexible, adaptable and robust cyber defense systems, which can make intelligent decisions (in near real-time) in detecting wide variety of threats and attacks, including active and passive attacks, external attacks and internal misuses, known and unknown attacks, viruses and spam, etc. Computational Intelligent (CI) techniques appear to be promising to enhance cyber security measures, and have been increasingly applied in the area of information security and information assurance. Moreover, the multi-faceted CI approaches appear to provide a new security paradigm to deal with influx of new threats in a large network of computers.


This symposium will cover all the issues, research and development of the state-of-the-art CI-based technologies in solving various computer and information security problems.  CI application areas include, but are not limited to:

  • information assurance, cyber fraud and crime detection
  • security of storage systems, operating systems, and networks
  • intrusion detection, prediction, classification, and response
  • models for survivable, resilient, and self-healing systems
  • sensor network security, web security, wireless security
  • digital forensics, security information visualization
  • sensor fusion and decision support in computer security
  • Security applications and cyber infrastructure protection

Keynote, Tutorial and Panel Sessions

Please forward your proposals with detailed abstract and bio-sketches of the speakers to Symposium Co-Chairs and SSCI Keynote-Tutorial Chair, Dr S. Das.

Accepted Special Sessions

Network Dynamics and Cyber Attacks:  A Computational Intelligence Approach, organized by
Dr.G.Padmavathi, Dr.B.Sarojini, Avinashilingam University, Coimbatore.(To submit a paper to this session, please select "11s1" as the main research topic)

Chip to Cloud security: Trends and Challenges, Session Chair: Dr. Shubhalaxmi Kher, Arkansas State University, USA. (To submit a paper to this session, please select "11s2" as the main research topic)


Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Symposium Co-Chairs.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Dipankar Dasgupta, The University of Memphis, USA
Justin Zhan, National Center of Infrastructure Protection, USA
Kumaraguru Ponnurangam, IIIT Delhi, India

Program Committee (Provisional)

Robert K. Abercrombie, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Gail-Joon Ahn, Arizona State University, USA
Tansu Alpcan, Technical University at Berlin, Germany
Nikolaos Bartzoudis, CTTC, Barcelona, Spain
Elisa Bertino, Purdue University, USA
Marco Carvalho, Institute for Human and Machine Cognition, USA
Nabendu Chaki, University of Calcutta, India
Bogdan Czejdo, Fayetteville State University, USA
Son K. Dao, HRL Laboratories, LLC, CA, USA
Sajal Das, University of Texas, Arlington, USA
Josep Domingo-Ferrer,   Rovira i Virgili University,  Spain
Gerry V. Dozier, North Carolina A. T. State University, USA
Anas Abou El Kalam, �cole Nationale Sup�rieure d'Ing�nieur de Bourges, France
Richard Ford, Florida Institute of Technology, USA
Sara Foresti, Universit� degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Padmavathi Ganapathi, Avinashilingam University, India
Debin Gao, Singapore Management University, Singapore
Solange Ghernaouti-H�lie, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
Michael R. Grimaila, Air Force Institute of Technology, USA
Drew Hamilton, Auburn University, USA
Tsan-Sheng Hsu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Murat Kantarcioglu, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Engin Kirda, Institut Eurecom, France
Ponnurangam Kumaraguru, IIIT Delhi, India
Kwok-Yan Lam, Tsinghua University, China
Gary B. Lamont, Air Force Institute of Technology, USA
C. Veni Madhavan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
Rabinarayan Mahapatra, Texas A & M, USA
Antonio Manzalini, Telecom Italia, Italy
Owen McCusker, Sonalysts, USA
Srinivas Mukkamala, New Mexico Tech, USA
Suku Nair, Southern Methodist University, USA
Sihan Qing, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Srini Ramaswamy, ABB Corporate Research Center, Bangalore, India
Martin Rehak, Czeck Technical University, Czeck Republic
Sankardas Roy, Howard University, USA
Andrzej Rucinski, University of New Hampshire, USA
Kouichi Sakurai, Kyushu University, Japan
Xinyuan (Frank) Wang, George Mason University, USA
Sugata Sanyal, Tata Consultancy Services , India
Indranil Sengupta, Indian Institute of Technology, India
Frederick Sheldon, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Victor Skormin, Binghamton University, USA
Mario Strasser, ETH Z�rich, Switzerland
Shamik Sural, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
Alexander Tarakanov, St. Petersburg Institute for Informatics, Russia
Shambhu Upadhyaya, State University of New York at Buffalo, USA
Da-Wei Wang, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Qishi Wu, University of Memphis, USA
Nan Zhang, George Washington University, USA