CCMB 2013

2013 IEEE Symposium on Computational Intelligence, Cognitive Algorithms, Mind, and Brain

Computational Intelligence (CI) has for many years drawn inspiration from the brain to produce data and signal processing techniques and systems which are capable of learning, evolving, adapting, self-organizing, communicating effectively with humans and machines and controlling complex systems. Brain-inspired methods are now widely used to process data produced by the brain with the aim of improving our understanding of how the brain functions and produces the remarkable intelligence exhibited by humans, which is yet elusive for computational systems.


This Symposium focuses on several core topics associated with cognitive algorithms, mind and brain, which are deemed to be of critical importance as we progress into the 21st century.

In general, we are interested in dynamic brain models and brain inspired methods which are used to differentiate between signals from different domains, uniquely fingerprint signals for identification, feature extraction, classification, modelling, prediction and more but the main topics of interest include studies of

Keynote, Tutorial and Panel Sessions

Please forward your proposals with detailed abstract and bio-sketches of the speakers to Symposium Co-Chairs and SSCI Keynote-Tutorial Chair Dr S. Das.

Special Sessions

Please forward your special session proposals to Symposium Co-Chairs.

Symposium Co-Chairs

Leonid Pervlovsky, Harvard University and Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
Damien Coyle, University of Ulster, UK
Kai Keng Ang, Iinstitute for Infocomm Research (I2R), Singapore
Jose F Fontanari, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Robert Kozma, The University of Memphis, USA


Advisory Committee

Angelo Cangelosi, Plymouth, UK
Henry Hexmoor, SIU, USA
Dan Levine, UTA, USA

Program Committee (tentative list)

Peter Andras, Newcastle, UK
Kai Keng Ang, Singapore
Basab Bhattacharya, N Ireland
Ross Deming, AFRL, USA
Justin Dauwels, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
Jose Fontanari, Brazil
John Gan, Essex, UK
Mario Gongora, Leicester, UK
Cuntai Guan, Singapore
Christoph Guger, Austria
Roman Ilin, AFRL, USA
Li-Wei Ko, NCTU, Taiwan
Fabien Lotte, Singapore
Heba Lakany, Glasgow, UK
Chin-Teng Lin, NCTU, Taiwan
Kia Nazarpour, Newcastle, UK
Abdul Satti, U of Ulster, N Ireland
Francisco Sepulveda, Essex, UK
Walter Weisse, Rhode Island, USA