Joint PhD Degree Programme NTUTU Graz




This PhD programme is a joint collaboration between Nanyang Technological University (NTU, Singapore) and Graz University of Technology (TU Graz, Austria). The programme offers opportunities to promising scientists and scholars to foster interactions between the three world class Universities in the area of interactive digital media. The principal areas of focus are Real-time Rendering, Virtual & Augmented Reality, Visual Analytics, Medical Computing, Haptics, and Human-Computer Interaction. The 4-years scholarships provided jointly by NTU and Fraunhofer Singapore assume that the applicants become full-time PhD students of NTU and TU Graz while having two supervisors - one from the host university and a co-supervisor from the respective overseas partner university. The NTU students spend one year of their project in TU Graz in the co-supervisor's lab. TU Graz students are supported by TU Graz PhD scholarships and also required to spend one year at NTU in the co-supervisor's lab. The degree of Ph.D. with mention of this collaboration between NTU and TU Graz will be delivered by the academic authorities of the institution where the student has successfully defended his/her oral defense. The Doctoral degree transcript will mention the name of the student, the thesis or research title, the doctoral degree specialization or discipline, the fact that there was an international joint supervision, the date of the oral defence.


NTU-based students:

Student: Mr. Lan Zirui, started in August 2013, 1 year attachment at TUG: September 2015 - August 2016. (NTU Scholarship) Thesis pending examination.
NTU supervisors: Lipo WANG, Olga SOURINA
TU Graz co-supervisors: Gernot Muller-Putz, Reinhold Scherer
Topic: Time-series analysis for EEG-based brain states classification
Abstract: Electroencephalography (EEG) is the time series recording of electrical activities along the scalp, which allows monitoring the brain activities with high temporal resolution. EEG techniques get more attention due to novel EEG devices which are portable and mobile. The objective of the project is to propose novel methods and algorithms for time-series analysis that could be successfully applied for real-time brain states classification from Electroencephalogram EEG.

TU Graz-based students:

Student: Mr. Johannes Edelsbrunner, 2012-2018. 1 year attachment at NTU: August 2013 - July 2014. (TU Graz Scholarship) Pending degree confirmation.
TU Graz supervisor: Sven HAVEMANN
NTU co-supervisor: Alexei SOURIN
Topic: Domain Specific Procedural Modeling of 3D Shapes
Abstract: Because modeling via code can often by quite tedious, simplifications for various modeling domains are of great help. One example is shape grammars. They are formal grammars (often context-free) that generate geometry. For regular and hierarchical structures, like building facades, they provide a much easier way of modeling compared to other procedural techniques. Therefore, finding new domain specific ways for describing 3D models or further developing existing ones, will increase the potential of procedural modeling. This project will look at the following application areas: modeling roofs, advanced shape grammars, visual programming systems for 3D models

Student: Mr. Mohammad Chegini, from 2017. 1 year attachment at NTU: August 2018 - July 2019. (TU Graz Scholarship)
TU Graz supervisor: Tobias Schrek
NTU co-supervisor: Alexei SOURIN
Topic: Visual-Interactive Data Analysis Supported by Novel Interaction Modalities
Abstract: The proposed research project will look into achieving solid research novelties the following: (1) Multi-modal data
analysis by using different devices to interact with data at the same time; (2) Team oriented data analysis which
focuses more on analysis tasks that require more than one person; (3) Novel data analytic tasks which focus on novel
ideas to explore data (e.g., local pattern analysis), and (4) Novel visualization and data interaction tasks.

NTU Programme coordinator: Alexei SOURIN (till 31 May 2018)

Programme Management Committee NTU - TU Graz
NG Wee Keong (SCSE NTU)
Dieter FELLNER (TU Graz) - Chair

Joint Admission Committee NTU - TU Graz
Alexei SOURIN (SCSE NTU) - Chair
NG Wee Keong (SCSE NTU)
Dieter FELLNER (TU Graz)